The Constitution and Mike Huckabee…and Me

Today I had the priviledge of responding to an acquaintance who posted a lengthy complaint against the Republican candidates in general and Mike Huckabee in particular, including this:

“Of course, Huckabee is not a true supporter of the Constitution, just like every other candidate (except Dr. Paul). Did you know Huckabee is a member of the CFR, an institution whose goal is to strip the USA of its sovereignty and push a one world government?”  Later he wrote, “Everyone’s ‘hero’ Lincoln completely violated the Constitution by enacting the Emancipation Proclamation and not allowing the South to secede. The Civil War was not about slavery, it was a war of small government vs. big government and unfortunately, big government won.” (edited for spelling, punctuation, and grammar)

As you can imagine, I was aghast.  I’m no trans-nationalist, and I felt as though I had been accused of being un-American, being the Huckabee supporter that I am.

So I did what passes for research in the modern age: I did a Google search.  Then I searched on Yahoo.  And though I found some people who say that Huck is a member of the CFR and some who insist that he is not, I couldn’t find anyone with evidence to back up either assertion.  (To be fair, I think the onus falls on those who say that he is, to prove that he is.  I’m sure that you’re already thinking with me, “You can’t prove a negative.”)  But the bigger picture is this: I think his membership or non-membership in the CFR isn’t really relevant, since the CFR bills itself as merely a research/scholarship organization with a diverse membership.  The real issue is the accusation that he doesn’t support the constitution and the sovereignty of the United States.

I got to thinking about whether to give the Constitution unlimited and uncritical support is even right.  If the United States engages in unethical or immoral behavior, or if the Constitution fails to protect human beings from oppression, what should be the limit of our support for the Constitution?

I had a conversation with myself, and here’s what I’ve decided:

I support the Constitution on the basis of its amendability.  For instance, I support a constitutional amendment to protect human life from conception to natural death.  But I also recognize that prior to the Civil War, a great evil was perpetrated on African slaves and their descendants, and there was no consensus in favor of a constitutional amendment to end slavery.  So even if old Abe Lincoln violated the constitution with the Emancipation Proclamation, I support him in doing that.  And I’d have to say that if there’s a new Abe Lincoln in our midst who would protect unborn children through similar means, I would support that as well.

Leave a Reply

