Antonio Johnson: In Shape and Feeling Good

Antonio Johnson tells the Fistic Mystic he’s ready for his next fight, scheduled for July 18: “Yeah, I’m blessed; my shoulder feels great.  I did everything I could do while injured so I’m in excellent shape.”  Asked whether he’ll have any trouble making junior middleweight after a fifteen months layoff, Johnson turns the tables, saying that he doesn’t choose to fight a junior middle – “I just couldn’t seem to ever find an opponent to come in at welter like the agreed…I’m gonna continue to fight around 149-151 until we find the important fights at welter.”

The Fistic Mystic says: Kudos to Johnson for keeping himself in shape.  Too many boxers are fighting higher than their ideal weight.  It’s good to see this young man finally getting another opportunity in any class.

Leave a Reply

