Caleb Truax Talks About Big Bear Camp

Truax and Team

Truax and Team

Caleb Truax recently returned from Big Bear, California, where he trained for two weeks 7000 feet altitude.  The camp was at Sugar Shane Mosley’s house and was chock full of big-time talent.  Here Truax shares his thoughts on the experience.

Fistic Mystic: So Caleb, I’ve heard such good things about Big Bear, tell me about it!

Caleb Truax: First and foremost, it was awesome, a great experience for me, and I’ll never forget it.

Fistic: Who was there?

Caleb: Me, Enrique Ornelas and his trainer, Jaidon Codrington, Tony (Grygelko, Truax’s manager), and for the first week, Shane Mosley and his people.

Fistic: Tell me about Mosley.

Caleb: I couldn’t believe how small he was, first of all.  Just a tiny little guy, for a 154 pounder.  And he’s fast, it’s true.  And a really classy and professional guy.

Fistic: What about Ornelas?  You told me before that he was a monster body puncher…

Caleb: Enrique was a monster!  I’ve never been in the ring with anyone like him.  He’s so strong and he put so much pressure on me.  With his strength and the pressure and the altitude he was real tough on me.  But after a week I had kind of got myself together and I was able to hold my own.

Fistic: What did you do?

Caleb: We sparred Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, and Friday.  I went four rounds the first day, five rounds the other days – except we went six rounds the last day.  I’m looking forward to getting back in the ring here at home and showing everyone what I learned.

Fistic: What did you learn?

Caleb: I learned that defense and fundamentals are very important.  Not that I didn’t already know that.  But I’ve had a tendency to get kind of loose in fights, and I know that I have to buckle down and keep working hard and improving and working on small things and get more experience.  That what the name of the game is.  I think I’m on the right track.

Fistic: Caleb, do you keep up with the bulletin board chatter?

Caleb: Sometimes, yeah.  I check it out once in a while.

Fistic: Have you heard about Ivan Stoval from California?  He’s been talking about you, you know.

Caleb: Yeah, I know.  (Laughing)  I’ve never heard of him, I don’t know who he is, and I don’t really care.  Tony (Grygelko) and Ron (Lyke) want me to fight him, and if they think that’s a good fight for me then I’ll take it, but it makes no difference to me if I fight him or not.

Fistic: So what’s next, then?

Caleb: Ron and Tony are looking for a fight in the next couple of weeks for me to take advantage of my conditioning that I got in Big Bear.  Tony is looking at something in Chicago and he’s also been in touch with Golden Boy to see whether he can get me on the same card as Ornelas; the next Kelly Pavlik fight. (October 18 in Atlantic City)

Fistic: Anything to say in closing?

Caleb: Like I say, it was a great experience and I’m a better fighter from it.  I think everyone is going to see that.  I want to thank Enrique Ornelas for having me out there.  He’s a class act.

Fistic: Thanks for taking the time to talk to me, Caleb.  I’ll talk to you again soon.  God bless.

Caleb: Yeah, see you around.

Leave a Reply

